Processing the Unknown

While cleaning out my father’s effects after he passed away, I discovered a 36 exposure roll of Kodak 400 B&W film.  I have no idea how old it was, but figured I would load it into my Nikon FM and see what happened.  All shots were taken in the downtown Minneapolis area.  I had the film developed, scanned the negatives at various resolutions and did some tweaking in Lightroom.  I did some spot removal, but mostly left them as is and cropped them to 8X10 as I prefer to print at 16X20.  Most of the images were pretty dark, not sure if that’s because of the age of the film or other factors.  They are also grainy, again, not sure if that is the age of the film.  In some ways, I like the effect, as it lends a dated feel to the images.  I don’t know that I will print any of them, but I do have a few favorites and am doing an exhibit of B&W work next month.  I may re-scan the favorites at a higher resolution to make them more printable.

4 thoughts on “Processing the Unknown

  1. Looks like a nice series of interesting images. Well worth doing some noise reduction.
    Always fun using old film, pity you didn’t process them yourself. A reduction in film speed and ‘Stockler’ two bath development would have probably helped.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.