Pt. 4, Breaking Rules

Click on image to enlarge.

When I started working with this image, I almost passed it by.  But, something about it kept calling me back.  I realized that it breaks some of the traditional rules I’ve learned in photography.  It’s heavily weighted to one side, making it awkward and out of balance.  It sort of follows the rules of thirds, maybe.  But the texture of the concrete is intriguing and adds its own value to the composition.  Compared to the metal support moving to the right, the concrete actually appears soft.  The metal erupting out of the concrete is well defined and rigid, and giving a sense of launching into space.  But, that’s just my interpretation, you may see it very differently.

More of my images can be seen at Northern Visions Media.

Leave a Reply

