Road Trip, Old School Style

On my last trip from Duluth to Minneapolis, I needed to make a stop in Rice Lake, Wis. to photograph a vacation home, which made my usual 2 1/2 hour drive about twice as long, plus the time to do the shoot.  What made the trip unusual was that I was returning my late father’s car to my mother’s house.  I had to borrow it when my car needed work and I had to go to Duluth.  The car in question is a 1992 Buick Roadmaster station wagon, a vehicle that I consider to be the original minivan because of the third seat facing the back.  It will seat at least eight, maybe nine, not sure if there are three seat belts in the third seat.  The car is showing its age, the body is missing some of its trim, has a bit of rust, the A/C doesn’t work, brakes need work and the turn signals don’t work, but other than that, it rides smooth.  It amazes me how many people, when they see the car, have stories about having one of these in their family when growing up.
Cruising down the highway in northern Wisconsin, then over to the St. Croix river valley before hooking up with the freeway on my way to the western side of the of the metro area, I fully enjoyed how the car floats down the road.  If money were no object, there is a part of me that would like to restore the car and take it on a cross-country trip.  Although, that big 350 V8 would cost me a bit of gas.
As far as the journey itself, I made a short stop at a roadside rest area along the St. Croix River just north of Stillwater, MN and snapped off a few shots of the wild flowers, the river and, of course, the Roadmaster.

Leave a Reply

