A Photographer’s Playground

As I was walking on the Duluth Lakewalk today, which is the pathway along Lake Superior, I spotted a couple of trees that had been sprayed with water from the large waves created by the recent storm. Both trees were sporting a collection of icicles of various lengths and shapes that had been sculpted by the water and wind. After snapping a few photos at the first tree, I moved on to the second tree which is where I took most of these photos.

I took my time exploring the ice encrusted tree, searching out unique perspectives, different formations, looking for contrasting backgrounds and waiting for the sun to break out between passing bands of snow.  Although I captured about forty images, these are my favorites.  In a few days the ice will probably be gone.  I am so glad that I was prepared with a camera and had a little time to play at the playground.

4 thoughts on “A Photographer’s Playground

Leave a Reply

